top of page
© Anton Windfelder

Offene Themen für Abschlussarbeiten

Hier finden Sie aktuelle Themenvorschläge für Bachelor-, Master- oder Doktorarbeiten. Zögern Sie nicht, mich zu kontaktieren, wenn Sie eine Idee für ein anderes Thema haben.

Bildschirmfoto 2023-09-08 um 15.53_edited.jpg
© Anton Windfelder
A mouse for comparison next to a Manduca sexta larva
© Kim Weigand | IME Fraunhofer

Projekt 01

Schädlingsraupen können traditionelle Versuchstiere ersetzen

Insektenlarven wie der Tabakschwärmer können als Alternative zu klassischen Labortieren wie Ratten und Mäuse in der präklinischen Forschung eingesetzt werden, um diese zu beschleunigen und ökonomisieren. Kleinsäuger wie Ratten und Mäuse sind aus der präklinischen Forschung nicht mehr wegzudenken. Doch gegen den extensiven Gebrauch dieser Tiere in der medizinischen Forschung gibt es zunehmend ethische Bedenken. Dies schlägt sich auch in der Förderpraxis von wissenschaftlichen Projekten sowie der Gesetzgebung nieder. Zukünftig sollen alle Möglichkeiten zur Reduzierung der Versuchstieranzahl sowie das Nutzen möglicher Alternativen voll ausgeschöpft werden, um die Zahl der in der Forschung genutzten Wirbeltiere zu reduzieren (3R-Prinzip) und die Forschung zu ökonomisieren. Je nach Fragestellung können Insekten wie die Larven des Tabakschwärmers (Manduca sexta) eine wichtige Schlüsselrolle als alternative in vivo-Tiermodelle einnehmen. Die angeborene Immunantwort des Darms sowie die Struktur des Darmepithels sind zwischen Säugetieren und Insekten wie dem Tabakschwärmer stark konserviert, weshalb die Larven des Tabakschwärmers sehr gut als alternatives Tiermodell für entzündliche Darmerkrankungen genutzt werden können. Aus diesem Grund haben wir eine Hochdurchsatz-Plattform entwickelt, die mittels bildgebender Verfahren aus der Radiologie und Nuklearmedizin entzündliche Veränderungen im Darm der Larven des Tabakschwärmers zielgenau charakterisieren und nicht-invasiv diagnostizieren kann. In der hier vorgestellten Veröffentlichung zeigen wir, dass die Larven von Manduca sexta mittels Computertomographie (CT), Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT) und Positronen-Emissions-Tomografie (PET) für die präklinische Forschung vielfältig nutzbar sind. Das Spektrum der möglichen Einsatzbereiche ist daher extrem breit: Die Hochdurchsatz-Plattform kann für die in vivo-Erprobung neuer Kontrastmittel und Tracer in der Radiologie und Nuklearmedizin zur Detektion von Entzündungen, für die Charakterisierung der gastrointestinalen Pathogenität von Mikroorganismen und für die Erprobung neuer antimikrobieller oder entzündungshemmender Medikamente genutzt werden. Überdies kann unsere alternative in vivo-Plattform dazu beitragen, wichtige Fragen zur Ätiologie von entzündlichen Darmerkrankungen wie z. B. Morbus Crohn oder Colitis ulcerosa zu beantworten und neue Therapien zu entwickeln. Projekt 1.1 Messungen der Darmwanddicke Unser Hochdurchsatzverfahren erzeugt eine riesige Menge an Bildern (z. B. in der Computertomographie). Wir suchen einen Bioinformatiker, der uns bei der automatischen Bildsegmentierung und -analyse unterstützt. Um Darmentzündungen zu erkennen, injizieren wir den Raupen klinische Kontrastmittel. Dies hilft, die Darmwand zu erkennen. Für die Analyse müssen wir die verschiedenen Darmabschnitte (Vorderdarm, Mitteldarm und Hinterdarm) segmentieren und dann die Dicke der Darmwand jedes Darmabschnitts messen (z. B. mittels Halbwertsbreite). Ihre Aufgabe ist es, eine solche Messmethode zu entwickeln. Projekt 1.2 Erprobung weiterer Bildgebungsmodalitäten. Wir suchen einen hochmotivierten Studenten, um zu testen, ob zusätzliche bildgebende Verfahren wie Ultraschall oder Biolumineszenz-Bildgebung mit Manduca sexta kompatibel sind. 1.3 Manduca als neues Modell für die Ökotoxikologie Die „Krefeld Studie“ hat 2017 das Insektensterben ins öffentliche Bewusstsein und in den Fokus der Forschung gerückt. Die Studie dokumentiert einen Rückgang der Insektenbiomasse von fast 80 % über einen Zeitraum von 27 Jahren. Seitdem läuft eine intensive Suche nach den Ursachen. Heute ist klar: Für den massiven Rückgang der Insekten gibt es keine monokausale Ursache. Dennoch wird immer deutlicher, dass das massenhafte Ausbringen von Pestiziden im Rahmen der konventionellen Landwirtschaft einen starken negativen Effekt auf die Insektenbiodiversität hat und einer der Hauptgründe für das Insektensterben ist. In diesem Projekt soll untersucht werden ob die oben genannten Bildgebenden Verfahren genutzt werden können um negative Auswirkungen von Pestiziden auf Insekten zu dokumentieren. Weitere Lektüre: •Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "High-throughput screening of caterpillars as a platform to study host–microbe interactions and enteric immunity." Nature communications 13.1 (2022): 7216. •Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "A quantitative micro-tomographic gut atlas of the lepidopteran model insect Manduca sexta." iScience 26.6 (2023). •Koshkina, Olga, et al. "Biodegradable polyphosphoester micelles act as both background-free 31P magnetic resonance imaging agents and drug nanocarriers." Nature Communications 14.1 (2023): 4351.

Bildschirmfoto 2023-09-08 um 11.18.34.png

Projekt 03

Anatomische 3D-Studien mittels Mikro-CT

Wie sieht eine Raupe von innen aus? Traditionelle Methoden wie die Histologie sind großartige Werkzeuge, um die zelluläre Grundlage der Anatomie zu verstehen. Allerdings sind diese Methoden langsam und nur auf zwei Dimensionen beschränkt. Aus diesem Grund setzten wir ein hochauflösendes Mikro-CT ein, um die Anatomie von Manduca sexta in 3D darzustellen. Wir haben bereits Daten über das Verdauungssystem von Manduca sexta veröffentlicht. Diese Arbeit wird sich auf das Tracheensystem (Atmung), die Malpighischen Gefäße (Ausscheidung) und das Muskelsystem von M. sexta konzentrieren. Weitere Lektüre: - Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "A quantitative micro-tomographic gut atlas of the lepidopteran model insect Manduca sexta." iScience 26.6 (2023). - Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "High-throughput screening of caterpillars as a platform to study host-microbe interactions and enteric immunity." Nature Communications 13.1 (2022): 7216

© Anton Windfelder

Mikro-CT-Bildgebung der Raupe des Tabakschwärmer
Volumendarstellung einer späten L5d6-Larve von Manduca sexta mit virtueller Endoskopie der Stomodealklappe und des Vorderdarms.

Verhaltensbedingtes Fieber bei Insekten?

Fieber ist eine biologische Reaktion, die in einem breiten Spektrum von Tiergruppen - von Gliederfüßern bis hin zu Säugetieren - vorkommt, wobei der Organismus die Fähigkeit zeigt, seine Körpertemperatur als Reaktion auf Krankheitserreger oder verwandte Elemente zu erhöhen. Diese erhöhte Körpertemperatur hat das Potenzial, die Überlebenschancen eines Organismus nach einer Infektion zu verbessern und damit seine allgemeine Anpassungsfähigkeit zu erhöhen. Das Auftreten und Ausmaß von Fieberreaktionen variiert jedoch sowohl innerhalb als auch zwischen verschiedenen Arten. In diesem Projekt soll untersucht werden, ob die Raupen von Manduca sexta nach einer Infektion Anzeichen von verhaltensbedingtem Fieber zeigen. • Stahlschmidt ZR, Adamo SA. Context dependency and generality of fever in insects. Naturwissenschaften. 2013 Jul;100(7):691-6. doi: 10.1007/s00114-013-1057-y. Epub 2013 May 26. PMID: 23709012. • Haddad F, Soliman AM, Wong ME, Albers EH, Semple SL, Torrealba D, Heimroth RD, Nashiry A, Tierney KB, Barreda DR. Fever integrates antimicrobial defences, inflammation control, and tissue repair in a cold-blooded vertebrate. Elife. 2023 Mar 14;12:e83644.

Get Manduca larvae fever?
© Anton Windfelder

Hier finden sie Projekte die schon an Studenten vergeben wurden

Belegt: Projekt 02

Der seltsame Fall der fehlenden Mikroben bei Lepidopteren

Haben die Raupen von Manduca sexta kein eigenes Darmmikrobiom? Kürzlich wurde die Vorstellung in Frage gestellt, dass die meisten Tiere nützliche mikrobielle Gemeinschaften beherbergen. Eine bekannte Studie zeigte, dass die meisten Raupen kein eigenes Darmmikrobiom haben. Die vorliegende Arbeit stellt diese Idee in Frage! Wir verfügen über einen erweiterten 16S rRNA-Datensatz mit Darmproben von 16 Larven aus verschiedenen anatomischen Positionen, Proben von Wirtspflanzen und Proben aus der künstlichen Nahrung. Ihre Aufgabe ist es, eine Mikrobiomanalyse des Darms der Insektenlarve Manduca sexta durchzuführen. Was wir im Moment sagen können, ist, dass wir Mikroben gefunden haben :) Weitere Lektüre: - Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "High-throughput screening of caterpillars as a platform to study host-microbe interactions and enteric immunity." Nature communications 13.1 (2022): 7216. - Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "A quantitative micro-tomographic gut atlas of the lepidopteran model insect Manduca sexta." iScience 26.6 (2023).

DSC_0413_edited.jpg
© Anton Windfelder
Unbenannt2121212_edited.png
© Anton Windfelder

Kontaktieren Sie mich

Adresse

Fraunhofer-Institut für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Oekologie IME Institutsteil Bioressourcen

Ohlebergsweg 12, 35392 Gießen, Germany

Kontakt

bottom of page

top of page
© Anton Windfelder

Good science education is the cornerstone of progress, innovation, and critical thinking in our rapidly advancing world. We contribute to this vital cause by igniting curiosity through hands-on experiments, fostering an environment where questioning is encouraged, and inspiring a new generation to embrace functional multimodal imaging in insects and other models.


Here are current suggestions for B.Sc., M.Sc. or Ph.D. theses topics. Don't hesitate to contact me if you have an idea for another topic.

manduca sexta in multimodel imaging (CT,micro CT, MRI and PET)
© Anton Windfelder
A mouse for comparison next to a Manduca sexta larva
© Anton Windfelder

Caterpillars as a replacement for mammalian models in preclinical research

Insect larvae such as tobacco hornworm can accelerate and economize preclinical research by complementing classic laboratory animals such as rats and mice. Small mammals like mice or rats are indispensable for preclinical research. However, growing ethical concerns led to the incorporation of the 3R principle (replacement, reduction, and refinement) into animal experiments legislation and research funding. In the future, the number of vertebrate laboratory animals should be reduced, and non-vertebrate alternatives should be used where possible. Furthermore, the incorporation of the 3R principle will also economize preclinical research since insect husbandry is much cheaper than the traditional housing of laboratory mammals. In that context, insect larvae like Manduca can serve as an alternative in vivo animal model. Mainly, with the high degree of evolutionary conservation in the innate immunity of the gut and similarities in the enteric epithelial structure, Manduca sexta can serve as a model for human gut inflammation. Recently we employed larvae of the tobacco hornworm Manduca sexta, which are big enough for macroscopic imaging techniques, such as computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), and positron emission tomography (PET) as a high-throughput platform to study the innate immunity of the gut and host-pathogen interactions. The developed platform represents an ethically acceptable, resource-saving, large-scale, and 3R-compatible screening tool for various life science disciplines, including the identification of new effectors and inhibitors in gut inflammation, the assessment of pesticides or other environmental factors, the assessment and evaluation of new antibiotic therapies, the analysis of host-pathogen interactions, and the identification of new contrast agents or tracers in radiology. Since 75% of the known human disease-causing genes have homologs in insects, this approach will also be helpful in testing preclinical hypotheses in inflammatory bowel disease. Project 1.1 Gut wall thickness measurements Our high throughput approach generates a massive amount of images (e.g., in computed tomography). We are seeking a bioinformatician for help with automatic image segmentation and analysis. To detect gut inflammation, we inject the caterpillars with clinical contrast agents. This helps to detect the gut wall. For the analysis, we need to segment the different gut parts (foregut, midgut, and hindgut) and then measure the thickness of each gut part's gut wall (e.g., with Full width at half maximum measurements). Your task is to develop such a measurement method. Project 1.2 Testing of further imaging modalities. We seek a highly motivated student to test whether additional imaging modalities like ultrasonography or bioluminescence imaging are compatible with Manduca sexta. 1.3 Manduca as a new model for ecotoxicology In 2017, the "Krefeld Study" brought insect mortality into the public consciousness and into the focus of research. The study documented a decline in insect biomass of almost 80% over a period of 27 years. Since then, an intensive search for the causes has been underway. Today, it is clear that there is no monocausal cause for the massive decline in insects. Nevertheless, it is becoming increasingly clear that the mass application of pesticides as part of conventional agriculture has a strong negative effect on insect biodiversity and is one of the main reasons for insect mortality. In this project, we will investigate whether the above-mentioned imaging techniques can be used to document the harmful effects of pesticides on insects. Further reading: •Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "High-throughput screening of caterpillars as a platform to study host–microbe interactions and enteric immunity." Nature communications 13.1 (2022): 7216. •Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "A quantitative micro-tomographic gut atlas of the lepidopteran model insect Manduca sexta." iScience 26.6 (2023). •Koshkina, Olga, et al. "Biodegradable polyphosphoester micelles act as both background-free 31P magnetic resonance imaging agents and drug nanocarriers." Nature Communications 14.1 (2023): 4351.

The anatomy of a tobacco hawk moth larva in virtual reality.

3d Anatomical studies using micro-CT

How does a caterpillar look from the inside? Traditional methods like histology are great tools to understand the cellular basis of anatomy. However, these methods are slow and limited to two dimensions. This project will employ high-resolution micro-CT imaging to reveal the anatomy of Manduca sexta in 3D. We have already published data about the digestive system of Manduca sexta. This thesis will focus on the tracheal (respiratory) system or the malpighian tubules (excretory) system or the muscular system of M. sexta. Further reading: •Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "A quantitative micro-tomographic gut atlas of the lepidopteran model insect Manduca sexta." iScience 26.6 (2023). •Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "High-throughput screening of caterpillars as a platform to study host–microbe interactions and enteric immunity." Nature communications 13.1 (2022): 7216.

© Anton Windfelder

Micro CT Imaging of the Tobacco Hornworm Caterpillar
Volume rendering of a late L5d6 Manduca sexta larva with virtual endoscopy of the stomodeal valve and foregut.

Behavioral fever in insects?

Fever is a biological response found across a spectrum of animal groups, spanning from arthropods to mammals, wherein the organism demonstrates the capability to increase its body temperature as a reaction to pathogens or related elements. This heightened body temperature has the potential to improve an organism's chances of survival following an infection, thereby increasing its overall adaptability. Nevertheless, the occurrence and extent of fever reactions exhibit variations both within and among different species. This project aims to investigate if the caterpillars of Manduca sexta show signs of behavioral fever after an immunological challenge. • Stahlschmidt ZR, Adamo SA. Context dependency and generality of fever in insects. Naturwissenschaften. 2013 Jul;100(7):691-6. doi: 10.1007/s00114-013-1057-y. Epub 2013 May 26. PMID: 23709012. • Haddad F, Soliman AM, Wong ME, Albers EH, Semple SL, Torrealba D, Heimroth RD, Nashiry A, Tierney KB, Barreda DR. Fever integrates antimicrobial defences, inflammation control, and tissue repair in a cold-blooded vertebrate. Elife. 2023 Mar 14;12:e83644.

Get Manduca larvae fever?
© Anton Windfelder

Here you can find projects that are already occupied by students

The Curious Case of the Caterpillar’s Missing Microbes

Do the caterpillars of Manduca sexta lack a resident gut microbiome? Lately, the idea was challenged that most animals harbor beneficial microbial communities. A prominent study showed that most caterpillars lack a resident gut microbiome. This thesis challenges this idea! We have an extended 16S rRNA Dataset containing gut samples from 16 larvae from different anatomical positions, samples from host plants, and samples from the artificial diet. Your job is to conduct a gut microbiome analysis of the insect larva of Manduca sexta. What we can say for now is that we have found microbes :) Further reading: •Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "High-throughput screening of caterpillars as a platform to study host–microbe interactions and enteric immunity." Nature communications 13.1 (2022): 7216. •Windfelder, Anton G., et al. "A quantitative micro-tomographic gut atlas of the lepidopteran model insect Manduca sexta." iScience 26.6 (2023).

DSC_0413_edited.jpg
© Anton Windfelder
Unbenannt2121212_edited.png
© Anton Windfelder

Contact Me

Address

Fraunhofer-Institut für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Oekologie IME Institutsteil Bioressourcen

Ohlebergsweg 12, 35392 Gießen, Germany

Contact

bottom of page